I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2012 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 315-31 (COR)

Introduced by:

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. R. J. Respicio <u>T. C. Ada</u> V. Anthony Ada F. F. Blas, Jr. B. J.F. Cruz Chris M. Dueñas Judith P. Guthertz, DPA Sam Mabini, Ph.D. T. R. Muña Barnes Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan M. Silva Taijeron Aline A.Yamashita, Ph.D. Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

1

Relative to congratulating the Engineers, Architects and Surveyors Golf Club (EASGC) on their 2012 Induction of New Officers; and to further commending them for their more than twenty (20) years of charitable involvement in the local community.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I* 2 *MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:*

WHEREAS, the Engineers, Architects and Surveyors Golf Club (EASGC) was founded in 1991, with its Constitution and By-Laws duly adopted by the Board of Directors on January 27, 1991; duly ratified by the EASGC members on February 3, 1991; and approved by the Department of Revenue & Taxation in March 1991; and

WHEREAS, the mission of the EASGC is to encourage and promote the game
 of golf, to encourage the EASGC members' participation in civic and community
 functions, and to support social functions for the EASGC members and fellow golfers;
 and

5 WHEREAS, the organization currently has sixty-three (63) members actively 6 involved in carrying out the mission of EASGC; and

WHEREAS, the membership of the EASGC consists mainly of engineers,
architects, surveyors, business owners and executives; and both active and retired
military servicemen; and

WHEREAS, the group meets every Sunday for a round of golf at various scheduled golf courses around the island, in order to foster a spirit of camaraderie among its members; and

WHEREAS, the EASGC holds a general membership meeting every first
Monday of the month at a designated hotel on island; and for the last two (2) years has
been holding its monthly meetings at the Guam Reef Hotel; and

WHEREAS, since 1994, the Engineers, Architects and Surveyors Golf Club has been hosting the JFT Island Wide Golf Tournament to raise funds for various charitable organizations, such as the Make A Wish Foundation; the *Alee* Shelter; the University of Guam Endowment Foundation; *Kamalen Karidat*; and the Guam Shriners; and

WHEREAS, the EASGC had made contributions to assist disaster victims, and
they helped to establish an orphanage in the Philippines; and

WHEREAS, the EASGC also provided monetary support to fund scholarships
for deserving students at the University of Guam; and

WHEREAS, the past presidents of the Engineers, Architects and Surveyors
Golf Club are: Mr. Ed Hipona, Mr. Nars Guertes, Mr. Vic Ovalles, Mr. Efren Tanag,

عدمان فراهها منظوران وروار ومروار والمروحين المحملة على المحملة الفريحية ومن مع فرور المقتور المقتور المتعاور والمروح

Mr. Rene Alcazaren, Mr. Roger Ruelos, Mr. Art Chan, Mr. Armand Cayand, Mr. Bob
 Field, Mr. Ted Abella, Mr. Angel Mendoza, Mr. PJ Jose, Mr. Vic Dew Roca, Mr.
 Rick Unpingco, Mr. Dubel Conlu, Mr. Nemy Macario, Mr. Ding Vales, Mr. Warly
 Gaid, Mr. Rene H. Ramos, Mr. James Badong, and Mr. Enrico Gloton; and they have
 all played a vital role in leading the club over the past twenty (20) years; and

6 WHEREAS, the newly-elected 2012 EASGC Officers are: President-elect 7 Bernie Maranan; Vice President-elect Ben Reyes; Treasurer-elect Pascual Jasa; 8 Secretary-elect Joe Vitug; and Auditor-elect Ted Abella. They will be sworn in on 9 February 11, 2012, and they are expected to continue leading the EASGC to carry out 10 its mission; now therefore, be it

11 **RESOLVED,** that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trentai Unu Na* 12 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of 13 Guam, congratulate the Engineers, Architects and Surveyors Golf Club on their 2012 14 Induction of New Officers; and does further commend them for all their years of 15 service to the community, and their continued support of the game of golf on the 16 island; and be it further

17 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules 18 certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of 19 the same be hereafter transmitted to Mr. Bernie Maranan, President-elect of the 20 Engineers, Architects and Surveyors Golf Club; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. 21 Calvo, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 9TH DAY OF FEBRUARY 2012.

MAM J. MSPILW RORY J. RESPICIO JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker **Chairperson, Committee on Rules** TINA RÔSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary